Plywood Transom Replacement

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
tech_support
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Plywood Transom Replacement

Post by tech_support »

Here is a link to our new tutorial on replacing a plywood transom....

http://boatbuildercentral.com/howto/tra ... /index.php

fisher3434
New Poster
New Poster

Re: Plywood Transom Replacement

Post by fisher3434 »

can a person do that to an older skagit boat. i'm new to this and i'd like to this right.

tech_support
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Post by tech_support »

fisher3434 wrote:can a person do that to an older skagit boat. i'm new to this and i'd like to this right.
Can you please provide some details on the boat in question? The tutorial is general in nature, the methods will work with 90% of production fiberglass boats.

26marked
New Poster
New Poster

Post by 26marked »

Thank you shine! Been looking for this for ages...

RonGinger
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by RonGinger »

Why not repair a transom by removing the outside glass? That seems a lot simpler than all the cutting form the inside.

It would take a bit more effort to get a nice smooth finish on the outside, but I still think it would be less than the inside job.

mechdave
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Post by mechdave »

You need to tab the transom core into the sides and bottom of the hull. And have layers of glass overlapping onto the sides. I guess you could do it from the outside but it would be nearly impossible to fair the transition and make it look right.

tech_support
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Post by tech_support »

I just made a post regarding this .....
You cut the outside skin :( this makes it Very difficult to do a good job