horizon 204 transom rebuild...where to cut?

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
amoler821
New Poster
New Poster

horizon 204 transom rebuild...where to cut?

Post by amoler821 »

hi everyone. newbie here. i have found a ton of info on this site, i'm really excited to get my project started. but my first question...where do i start? i know every boat is different, but i havent found anything similar to mine at all.
i posted a picture in the gallery,(the title is horizon 204 transom).im curious where i should begin cutting when rebuilding the transom. should i cut starting at the top about 6-12 inches from the back of the boat, across the storage box on one side, down the side of the box to the floor, across the floor and over the other side? and also, do i go all the way across the back or just where the outboard sits, as long as its solid...looking at the pic you'll see what i mean. any help would be appreciated! thanks in advance.

OrangeQuest
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Re: horizon 204 transom rebuild...where to cut?

Post by OrangeQuest »

Welcome to the forum. If you could post some pictures and some info as to were you see damage then the repair/rebuild guys will help guide you to the correct way to start. Looks like from your picture you still need to get the motor and everything out of your way. Good luck and have fun!
"that it isn't just an ordinary sort of boat. Sometimes it's a Boat, and sometimes it's more of an Accident. It all depends." "Depends on what?" "On whether I'm on the top of it or underneath it."
A. A. Milne

Capt UB
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Post by Capt UB »

He can't post photos here. :doh:

Is it a fiberglass boat or wood composite?

Looked at your photo... I got nothing...

OrangeQuest
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Post by OrangeQuest »

Ok. Sorry, I didn't know that.