need paint recommendation

See our FAQ and tutorials before posting.
jasonmcintosh
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

need paint recommendation

Post by jasonmcintosh »

Years ago, I painted the interior of my GF18 an "off white" System Three paint. I didn't want bright white due to the glare.

I purchased an 1985 Nauticat 44 motor-sailer that will eventually need it's top deck painted. In the mean time, I have some other items that need painting. I was going to use the same S3 paint, but it looks like Boat Builder Central isn't selling System Three paints anymore.

The only experience I have with marine paint is that S3 stuff. I thought it worked well... Since it's non longer on this web site, I will just go with another brand. I've heard of Awlgrip, but I have no experience with it. However, they have far too many shades of white for me to pick from. Does anyone have a recommendation for a paint brand and color that might be close to that old "off white" System Three color? Or any "off white" color for that matter, just to reduce glare.

Jason
Hopefully fishing from my GF18

Jaysen
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Re: need paint recommendation

Post by Jaysen »

EMC/Quantum Oyster White
My already completed 'Lil Bit'. A Martens Goosen V12 set up to sail me to the fishing holes.
Currently working on making a Helms 24 our coastal cruiser.
“Mark Twain/Samuel Clemens” wrote:Eat a live frog first thing in the morning and nothing worse will happen to you the rest of the day.
Jaysen wrote: Mon Apr 29, 2019 3:44 pm I tried to say something but God thought I was wrong and filled my mouth with saltwater. I kept my pie hole shut after that.

jasonmcintosh
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Post by jasonmcintosh »