Epoxy texture

See our FAQ and tutorials before posting.
Pudgey1922
New Poster
New Poster

Epoxy texture

Post by Pudgey1922 »

I put my first three coats of epoxy on the plywood for my center console. This is my first build so I figured I’d start small. I put each coat on 6 hours after the one before. It was around 65 degrees. Now the epoxy has a leathery looking finish. Is this normal or what did I do wrong?
Attachments
IMG_0929.jpeg
IMG_0928.jpeg

jbo_c
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Re: Epoxy texture

Post by jbo_c »

How’d you apply? Looks to me like maybe you rolled a little far into the gel stage?

Jbo

jbo_c
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Post by jbo_c »

Looking back, maybe at 65F, you were lifting tack from the prior layer. I applied some at 63F today (marine epoxy slow) and 5 hours later it was still tacky. Bet that’s what happened if you were applying with a roller.

Lots smarter people than me here will maybe chime in with another idea shortly.

Jbo

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Post by Fuzz »

Are you sure that is not blush? Try cleaning it off with some warm water.
I know most folks work in warmer conditions but all my work is done at 60f. Does not seem to matter both fast and slow are hard by the next morning. I use 90% fast so blush is something I keep an eye out for. My temp is steady al 60f indoors and I do not get much blush.

bklake
Active Poster
Active Poster

Post by bklake »

My kayak is 3 coats of epoxy. The suggested method was to let the first coat cure then sand with 80 grit to knock down the high spots. Apply second coat, let it cure and sand with a finer grit 120-220 depending on what you think it needs. Sand more completely than first coat but don't sand it all off. I think I stopped sanding when about 50% looked sanded and 50% looked untouched. The third coat goes on carefully like you are painting for a fine finish.

This filled the weave of the fiberglass cloth and was almost mirror smooth when done.